Tales of light

The workshop of conceptual lighting

Outlook

Minimalism and brevity — are the key factors of our lamps's forms. But we always keep in mind their main purpose: to provide practical and atmospherical lighting that fills the space with «history».

Lamps by TALES of LIGHT easily fit in any interior and act as the style-forming accent of different environments. Whether it's the simple Scandinavian interior, mad fusion, ethno, loft, or straightforward classics — TALES of LIGHT lanterns are up for it!

Functionality

Some of our lamps are specially «made for children», or «are suitable for children too». We have created the lanterns that not only illuminate and decorate the space, but also can become part of a very fascinating game.
In this — we see the basic nature of their functionality.

Nowadays, so oversaturated by material objects, it is very important for things that surround the child at home to be functional to the limit… Not just hanging on the walls, but able to create a very special, unique world — with the use of fantasy of course! That’s why we love making floor lamps, easy to carry around, easy to hold! They are totally safe even for the smallest ones! These lamps are the toys, the transfomers, the model kits.

Attention to details

We've aссumulated big experience in creating lighting objects and know how important the good fittings are. For many years we’ve been testing different materials and shapes — and have chosen only the best ones. And we never stop exploring.

Textures

We pay very close attention to the tactile sensation that our objects give. We make them from wood — warm, heavy, smooth or rough. We use different technologies of identifying its texture and always finish manually.

Alexey Krendel

TALES OF LIGHT creator and designer, participant of professional exhibitions in Europe and Russia, photoartist and yachtsman.

«I made my first lamp in the times of my youth, when I lived in one of Saint-Petersburg squats. My mission was very simple — to transform an empty room simply «decorated» by a mattress and a couple of speakers into a cozy space. Three laths and a dry palm leaf from the Taurian greenhouse (a famous place in the city) resolved the issue… Because for the interior design everything is secondary in comparison with the lighting direction!

Ever since, in many things that pass me by, I see a future lighting object. In almost 20 years of creating lamps I've tried so many forms, so many ideas, I’ve worked with different spaces and materials. During this period the incandescent bulbs managed to go into oblivion and LED-lamps replaced them! And still I feel as if I’ve just began. The search of beauty is infinite. This is what pleases me in my work the most.

The search for beauty is endless and this is what I like most in my work.

Tales of light

Мастерская концептуальных светильников

Внешний вид

Больше всего в дизайне светильников мы ценим минимализм и любим футуристичность, не забывая про их основное предназначение — давать практичное и атмосферное освещение, которое наполняет пространство «историей».

Лампы от TALES of LIGHT легко вписываются в любой интерьер и решают вопрос стилеобразуюшего акцента разнообразных пространств. Будь то лаконичный скандинавский стиль, безумный фьюжн, этно, лофт, или строгая классика — светильники TALES of LIGHT готовы ко всему.

Функциональность

Часть наших светильников мы позиционируем как детские, или в том числе детские. Мы создали светильники, которые не только освещают и украшают пространство, но и могут использоваться детьми в процессе игры и творчества. В этом основная природа их функциональности.

В наше время перенасыщенности материальными объектами, важно, чтобы предметы быта, окружающие ребенка, были максимально функциональны — не просто висели на стене, но и могли создать особенный, совершенно уникальный мир, в том числе и при помощи фантазии. Поэтому большинство наших светильников напольные, легко переносятся, их можно брать в руки: они безопасны даже для самых маленьких. Это светильники-игрушки, светильники-трансформеры, светильники-конструкторы.

Внимание к деталям

Мы накопили большой опыт в дизайне и производстве световых объектов и знаем, насколько важна хорошая фурнитура. Много лет мы пробовали и тестировали разное и выбрали cамое лучшее. При этом не останавливаемся в поиске.

Фактура

Мы придаем особенное значение тактильному восприятию наших объектов. Делаем их из дерева — теплого, тяжелого, гладкого или шершавого, используем разные технологии выявления его фактуры, обязательную ручную обработку (доводку) деталей.

Алексей Крендель

Дизайнер Tales of lights, участник профессиональных выставок в Европе и России, фотохудожник и яхтсмен.

«Первый светильник я смастерил, когда в юности жил в питерском сквоте. Моя задача была простой — сделать уютной и стильной пустую комнату, где кроме матраса и проигрывателя с колонками ничего не было. Три рейки и сухой пальмовый лист из Таврической оранжерии решили вопрос. Потому что для дизайна интерьера все вторично по сравнению с расположением света!

С тех пор во многом, что попадает мне в руки, я вижу будущий световой объект. Почти за двадцать лет создания светильников я перепробовал множество форм, воплотил или пробовал воплотить немало идей, работал с разными пространствами и материалами. За это время даже лампы накаливания ушли в прошлое, а их место заняли светодиоды! А я все еще чувствую себя так, будто только начал».

Поиск красоты бесконечен и это то, что больше всего радует меня в моей работе.